Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 Upper Cylinder Lubricant.
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Maury

United Kingdom
10 Posts

Posted - 06/05/2020 :  09:16:54  Show Profile
This is my first time posting on this forum. In the past I have owned a J1 and an ND [NA0360] and I currently own a WA drophead and an MGA.

My son, Phil Standish, recently bought a J2 and he's left it with me to get running. The car was taken off the road about ten years ago and all the fluids were drained. I am wondering whether or not I should put some sort of thin oil into the tops of the bores to lubricate the piston rings for a while before trying to start the car, and I am looking for advice as to the type of oil to use. Would three in one oil be any good for this?

Thanks in advance.

Maurice Standish

Colin Butchers

United Kingdom
1479 Posts

Posted - 06/05/2020 :  10:48:59  Show Profile
Very wise Maurice, but I would have thought that whatever engine oil you intend to use would be sufficient to penetrate the dark recesses of the valve gear and bores. I use Morris Oils Classic 20/50 specially formulated for pre-war engines and a teaspoon full of oil dribbled into the sparking plug holes and left for a week should suffice. Also remove the rocker cover and splash plenty of oil all over the camshaft drive gears and rockers. Then before you replace the sparking plugs, turn the engine over with the starter motor until the oil pressure comes up on the pressure gauge. I did all this to my PA engine yesterday and it started without difficulty after standing idle for six months. Lovely to hear its voice again after such a long sleep.