The following is a summary of the completed competition year 2021 with winners and runners up:

Slade 2021

1st Bill Bennett J2-PA/s, 2nd William Opie, =3rd David Rushton M and Derek Chatto M. While Covid restrictions were still in place until April 2021, all the early trials events had been either cancelled or postponed until later in the year. Although David Rolfe had been a keen competitor in VSCC events, his Riley 9 engine M type was ineligible for a Triple-M award. This just leaves the four names mentioned at the top with all bar Derek Chatto competing in just one event each – Derek did two.

Speed Championship 2021

1st Tim Sharp PB/s, =2nd Mike Painter J2-PB/s and Harry Painter PA/s, 3rd Charlie McEvoy F1/s.

Tim Sharp had progressed from third place last year to first in 2021, mainly by virtue of the greater number of events entered – two sprints and eight hill climbs – although only the best five count towards the award. By contrast, Mike and Harry Painter only completed two hill climbs each and Charlie McEvoy three, which put them at a distinct disadvantage.

Racing Challenge – Betty Haig Cup 2021

1st Harry Painter PA/s, 2nd Barry Foster C/s, 3rd Simon Jackson PB/s.

By far the most heavily subscribed competition of the season, mainly as a result of Duncan Potter's efforts to promote entries to all appropriate racing events. Altogether, thirty-two drivers competed in racing throughout the year with fifteen finishing in more than the five event minimum to count towards the award. By a good margin, Harry Painter's performance had been exceptional and well deserved of his first place with Barry Foster and Simon Jackson both well placed.

Mary Harris Trophy Winner Nigel Stroud J2/s Kimber Trophy Winner Oliver Sharp NA/s Don Moore Trophy Winner Not Awarded

The highest place C Types in the Car Of The Year table for 2021

Robin Gordon Trophy Winner

1st Barry Foster C0280, 2nd Duncan Potter C0287, 3rd David Cooksey C0256

Car Of The Year 2021

1st Mike Painter J2-PB/s Kayne Special, 2nd Tim Sharp PB/s, 3rd Harry Painter PA/s Congratulations to Mike Painter in a close fought competition year, with just one point separating his car from Tim Sharp's PB. Once again it had been a difficult year with cancelations and restrictions.

2022:

As of August, the **Speed Championship** leader is Steve McEvoy who has been competing with the supercharged, single seat NA 'Bellevue Special'. Steve has already completed five events so any further improvement can only be achieved by better performances. James Burmester, currently in second place, has only completed three so there is still some catching up to do.

The **Racing Challenge** has all but finished for 2022 so Charles Goddard's position at the top looks unchallengeable with Andrew Long in second and Duncan Potter third.

The second half of the **Trials** season is set to resume in September but Triple-M activity so far has been poor. David Rushton currently leads.

The Car Of The Year table is currently led by the PA of Ian and Charles Goddard with the Bellevue Special second but only by one point. Third is the NA of Andrew Long but there is still some way to go before the competition closes on the 31st December.

Michael Linward Competition Secretary