Triple-M Register
Triple-M Register
Home | Events | My Files | Policies | Profile | Register for the forum | Active Topics | Subscribers | Search | Locate Subscribers | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Triple-M Register Forums
 General Information
 STOLEN MG
 Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kimber

United Kingdom
1526 Posts

Posted - 30/12/2011 :  12:04:51  Show Profile
This has appeared on the VSCC website today:

Recently stolen: 1932 MG Midget, VRN MG 2041, colour Green, from a garage during the holiday period.

Being the (legal!) owner of a P-type that was once stolen from a lock-up I have some indirect experience of this situation.

My thinking was that the thief was either a complete idiot and that the car would inevitably surface (which in my case was exactly what happened about a year later ) or, he/she knew exactly what they were doing and the only way of disposing of it was to break it up for spares. I suppose changing the I.D. /colour might be another option.

Anyway, I wish whoever the unfortunate owner is good luck recovering their vehicle.

No doubt we'll all be keeping our eyes peeled.

Edited by - kimber on 30/12/2011 12:05:49

greg

United Kingdom
829 Posts

Posted - 30/12/2011 :  14:14:52  Show Profile
Where abouts in the country did this happen? My dads brother sold someone a td a week later it was stolen out of the new owners garage and it was never seen again. This was over 30 years ago.
Go to Top of Page

tonym

United Kingdom
651 Posts

Posted - 30/12/2011 :  15:43:38  Show Profile
Very sad - what a world we live in!!
Perhaps it would be a good idea if the Registrar contacted the unfortunate owner, so that the owner could post info on all the identifiable parts that the thief might try to dispose of - especially on this site.
To confuse things, I note from the Register that MG2041 is both an M-type and a J2 !!!
Go to Top of Page

Peter Green